Daimonzaka Kumano Kodo Kii Mountain Range

Wakayama Prefecture or the hidden secret of Japan

The Wakayama Prefecture, located near Osaka, is famous for the ancient pilgrimage trails through the Kii Mountain Range. You should plan a 3 to 5 days hiking tour to explore parts of this amazing and remote area.

It is without doubt one of the most mystical and spiritual places in Japan. Monks and Emporers used these trails for more than 1000 years. The center of their worship are the three Grand Shinto Shrines – Nachi Taisha, Hayatama Taisha and Hongu Taisha – also known as Kumano Sanzan.

7 trails of various difficulties, called Kumano Kodo, waiting for you. These trails are part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site – Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range.   
I can only say leave the stress behind and follow my recommended hiking path from Tanabe City to Nachi Falls. 
What can you expect? You will jump in a mysterious world with huge ferns, moss covered thick forest, amazing waterfalls, old shrines and hot springs. Besides using a tent you should try out old traditional ryokans for an overnight stay during your hiking tour. 
To get a more detailed description of the amazing sightseeing spots along the trails follow these links:
Nachi Falls
Seiganto-ji Temple
Kumano Kodo Kii Mountain Range
Kumano Hongu Taisha
Doro-kyo Gorge